back to more nourishing paths….

Ancient traditions… nourishing pathways… healing arts.. healthful cookery

In the years of my struggle with the “mystery illness” that turned OUT to BE Lyme disease.. I found.. or RE discovered these ways.. Ways of my people… When I began to test these recipes with my family.. many of them seemed familiar.. and many of them were because they were recipes very much like my mothers.. ONLY I was unable to read them to compare, for I do not read the German language of my mothers recipe book very well… ok.. not at all…

With the diagnoses… I was put on THIS diet.. and THAT diet.. and now.. I am choosing to go Back…

back to the more nourishing paths…

two nights ago.. I roasted a lovely chicken… and made a light gravy from the roasted onion, and garlic sitting in the pan beneath it steeping in the broth and herbs I had placed there to keep the pan moist and aromatic, so my Chicken would be fall off the bone perfection and not dry AT all… and.. it was…

I made homemade mashed potatoes.. but now.. they were made casein free, with Earth’s balance Soy Free, Casein Free, Gluten free buttery Spread and Almond Milk, a hint of Nutmeg and some Sea Salt.. they were wonderful!

We also had GF muffins (the Princess got in the deal!)  A salad too… Some steamed Veggies

and I made a wonderful Chicken broth, made with red pepper flakes, coconut milk, and green onions.. this was our appetizer.. it is perfect on a cold cold day, or when you feel your chest a bit tight… really lovely… (where’s the pictures right… opps .. sorry.. NEXT time!)

The meal was HUGE, and wonderful… But it HAS to be.. there are 6 people eating, and I wanted to only serve 1 Chicken.. where we used to consume 2.  I wanted it to be healthful, and casein free, and full of herbs, and spices, and aroma… and guess what…

IT WAS FABULOUS!!!!!!!

We even had JUST enough left over (shocking isn’t it?) for hubby to have lunch at work the next day !  AND (yes… i know!!!) for Princess to get some chicken off that bone, to put in a container to have for her Caesar salad! 🙂

AND… (I KNOW!!!! ) We are taking the Chicken carcass, 2 onions, some carrots, celery, parsley, peppercorn and making a chicken stock today!

impressive isn’t it?

“Why is Chicken soup superior to all the things we have, even more relaing thatn “Tylenonl”?  It is because chicken soup has a natural inredient which feeds repairs and calms the mucous lining in the small intestine.  this inner lining is the beginning or ending of the nervous system.  It is easily pulled away from the intestine through too many laxatives, too many food additives… and parasites.  Chicken soup… heals the nerves, improves digestion, reduces allergies, relaxes and gives strength.  Hanna Kroeger Ageless Remedies from Mothers Kitchen” – Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon

there is even a south american proverb

“Good broth Resurrects the dead”

hmmm… if we lymies are the walking dead.. IF YOU.. ever just FEEL like the walking dead..
HERE is a recipe for you!

1 whole free range chicken (even the inner parts, and the bones – yes gizzards)

feet from chicken (if you are lucky enough to get them!)

4 quarts or so of filtered H2O

2 T Vinegar (I use Raw Apple Cider Vinegar.. Always for .. everything that goes IN me)

1-2 Onions chopped.. (don’t get fancy)

1-2 carrots peeled or scrubbed good, and chopped (not fancy)

3 stalk celer (minimum)

parsely… (at LEAST the parsley STEMS-3-6)

2 pepper corns (optional.. it’s ok if you are allergic to omit this but you will strain it. so it’s really more about flavor)

4-8 cloves garlic (more if you would like)

If you have already used the chicken just save the remainder in a container for when you want to make the stock.. I have even frozen the carcass.. Some meat on helps the flavor of the stock…

If you are using a WHOLE chicken (you may want to cut off wings and neck and get the gizzards out of the cavity)… If you are lucky enough to find a chicken with head or feet KEEP these on!  Cut chicken into pieces.  Farm raised, Free ranged will usually produce the MOST gelatin for you!

Place Chicken in LARGE stainless steal pot with water vinigar and all veggies (not parsley).  Let stand about 30 minutes.  Bring to boil and remove scum that rises to the top.  Reduce heat, cover and simmer 6 – 24 hours

The LONGER you cook the richer and more flavorful it will be.  Let parsley cook last 10-15 minutes or so…NOW it is time to strain!!! I like to save all my meat if I have used a whole chicken 🙂 pulling meat out and use for salads or enchiladas and other recipes.. Stain all the veggies out, and then I cool my stock, and put int my refrigerator.  After a few hours.. or the next day, there is a whole LAYER of icky fat on top!  I just skim it off, and then take the rest of the stock and put it into containers and freeze it!

well all but a little.. I always keep a little to put BACK on my stove to heat up and drink… 🙂  One nice thing is.. I DO buy Kirkland Organic Broth, & Pacific… BUT.. THIS tastes so much better.. THIS takes more work, THIS takes more time.. THAT fills in the blank spaces.. It’s sort of my back up.. THIS is my substance..

I hope YOU enjoy.. some more NOURISHING paths too..

Here’s to healing together… One day at a time

About sweetnika

Home Educator, Loving Wife, Born again Christian, decorating, photogaphing, blogging, reading adventurer, off on an exciting new adventure!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to back to more nourishing paths….

  1. Hey, you used to write wonderful, but the last few posts have been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings. Past few posts are just a little bit out of track! come on!

Leave a Reply

