That beautiful red berry… The Cranberry….

One first thinks of it for Thanksgiving.. and silly us.. we often promptly let it simply slip right out of our minds.. We MAY consider it.. IF we have a kidney infection… a UTI, then we go to the store and buy some juice made from the berrys…

 but think of it..

It really is simply lovely… This deep blood red fruit…  Ready JUST before the winter sets in…

Reading Nourishing Traditions today, I was struck with what Sally Fallon shares in her book “The cranberry grows wild in marshy places in New England and as far south as North Carolina.  First called “fen berries” by the settlers, they were soon incorporated into their diets.  Eventually the name changed to “craneberry” or “cranberry” because of the slender stems of the fruit curve like the neck of a crane.  As early as 1860, medical science recognized the value of cranberries or their juice for the treatment of uriinary tract infections and other kidney problems.  Cranberries raise the level of acid in the urine and act as an antibiotic”

LOVE that.. I was also reading about the Onion.  Many of you may, or may NOT know that the Native Americans from the Great Lakes region (where I am from)  called the onion She-khe-ony, and it’s from this name, that some HOW??? they got the name Chicago… yah… I have never seen it.. but… THAT is ok, I am not a linguist. 

Onions are AWESOME!  I have some sensitivites to them (they make me sneeze, but I don’t care… really!)  According to Sally Fallon’s book ” Onions are valued for their distinct flavor, which enhances the flavors of other ingredients in any good dish; and they are particularly good marriage with bland starchy foods, such as legumes or potatoes.” Sounds to me like onions are everyone’s best friend… Are YOU an onion?  Do you have an onion in your life?  Some one who…, enhances everything you do, even your blandness??? or ARE you that person TO someone else?  I think ONIONS are cool, plus there is the old addage, that you just keep peeling back the layers of an onion, it’s like a lifetime.. and Onions make you weep… they are rich, passionate, deep, flavorful…. LOVE LOVE LOVE onions.. how about you???

Did you know Onions have things like, B complex Vitamins?  Even B6?  Or things like Carotenoids, and Vitamin C?  Did you realize that Onions have Calcium and Magnesium!  I thought that was amazing.. seing as we are supposed to get those two together anyways 🙂  I also read that Onions have potassium and sulfur compounds… Sally Fallon states that onions are “universally valued for their medicinal properties, which include improvement of kidneys function and antibacterial qualities.  According to some researchers, half a cup of raw onions per day is an excellent means of prtecting the blood from a tendency to coagulate and clot.  Onions also have been shown to lower elevated blood sugar levels in test animals.  Pasteur was the first t recognize that onions have strong antibacterial powers; onions are also helpful in breaking up mucus in the throat, lungs and nasal passages.  Finally recent research indicates that onions, with their concentrated sulphur compounds, can be useful in treating cancer in some people.  Onions also concentrate germanium when it is found in the soil.  Germanium acts as an oxygen transporter and has been useful in cancer therapy.  On the other hand, certain yogic diets prohibit the onion because it is said to ” increase body heat and the appetits.   This may be because the onion acts as a stimulant to the adrenal glands.  Those with weak adrenal glands should eat of the onion family sparingly as should individuals sensitive to sulphur containing foods.”

maybe my issue is with sulphur … or.. it’s been my weak adrenals.. either way.. I don’t go nuts but I do eat onions.. and LOVE them… There are foods to support adrenals and get them back into shape.. that will be another post..

But.. this post was really about the CRanBerry and .. a little friend.. because… I found a recipe!!!!!   Buddy can NOT have this as it is.. and neither can Baby… but here it is! Directly from the Nourishing Traditions cook book.. soon to be ALTERED by me because of allergies.. as always.. I am hoping for readers to make WISE suggestions…

we are casein free, so perhaps I could use ghee in this recipe instead of butter, or Earth’s balance (sf,cf,gf) and I need a smart substitution for the raisins.. This recipe sings to me.. Of my time in Massachusetts, marshy cranberry fields, it just sings of healing, and health and I want to taste it.. so.. dearest reader.. I am sharing it in the orignial.. and I am off to modify!  suggestions welcome!

Onion- Cranberry Compote

(makes 4- cups)

2/3 c yellow raisins

2/3 c dark raisins

1 1/2 c hot filtered water

2 lb small white onions peeled

4 T butter

3/4 c white wine vinegar

1 c dry white wine

3 cloves garlic (peeled & minced)

1/2 t dry thyme

1 t sea salt

1 2/3 c fresh cranberries

Soak raisins in water for 10 minutes.  In lg. saucepan, saute onion in butter till well coated.  Add wine and vinegar and boil down for several minutes.  Add raisins and soaking liquid with remaining ingredients eXcept cranberries.  Liquid should JUST cover the onions.  If not, add a little water.  Simmer, covered for 1 hr, stirring occassionally (is it me, or does this seem excessive???)  Remove cover add cranberries and simmer uncovered for 15-30 minutes until liquid has thickened.  Let cool.  May be made up to 3 days in advance.  Store in refrigerator.  Serve at room temperature.

hmm sounds yummy.. healing.. wholesome..

About sweetnika

Home Educator, Loving Wife, Born again Christian, decorating, photogaphing, blogging, reading adventurer, off on an exciting new adventure!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to That beautiful red berry… The Cranberry….

  1. Anne says:

    here’s a suggestion – mulligatawny stew! (the onion and raisins made me think of it)
    I had some in Big Fork, MT that almost made me move there <>

    posted on fb about the cranberries – where can we buy them this time of year?

    • sweetnika says:

      recipe PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 sounds wonderful! share share.. what IS it??

      • Anne says:

        I don’t think I could get ‘his’ recipe. He is a wonderful chef/owner of a place in Big Fork – his bakery & cafe is a foodie’s dream. I’ll share some pictures and more of the story sometime… it was one of the few and delicious forays into food adventure that I’ve been blessed to enjoy. I may just have to contact him… you never know… true artists love to share their craft….

        Anyway, since he gave me a sample of his mulligatawny, I’ll have to peruse recipe’s online and see if I can find one that sounds similar. I remember….. celery, brown rice, tomato, curry, raisin, some fragrant cinnamon-like spice… so savory and lightly sweet and warm…. you’d love it.

        Now my mind is wandering…. how interesting (gracious) that God gave us this passion for good food to help us be healthy. Now to get rid of all the junk that gets in the way of it (time, habits, culture)!

  2. Thanks , I have recently been looking for information about this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered so far. But, what about the bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

    • sweetnika says:

      🙂 Welcome Barbara! The source is Nouishing Traditions by Sally Fallon… she worked on this amazing book with Mary Enig, and it is in the wonderful tradition of Dr. Weston Price… Are you familiar with Dr. Price or the Weston Price Foundation? The information is good. 🙂 at least.. as far as i know. I grabbed it directly from my wonderfully stained copy, loved and worn.. 🙂
      Many blessings to you in your research!

Leave a Reply

